Books with Hard Topics | Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday is a book meme hosted by Samantha over at Thoughts on Tomes. You can keep up with other T5W posts on the GoodReads page

Hey ya’ll! Sorry I’ve been absent lately. I’m in the biggest reading slump and nothing is breaking me out of it! It’s getting a little ridiculous right now, actually. I originally wasn’t going to do this post because I didn’t think that I had any books to contribute but after reading other people’s posts, I realized I actually do! Yay, fun things!!


Thirteen Reasons WhyThirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

I read this book back in high school (which was forever ago) and it really stuck with me. The novel follows a guy named Clay who’s crush Hannah recently committed suicide. A few weeks after her death, he discovers a box from Hannah with 13 cassettes explaining why she decided to end her life — and Clay is one of them. It’s such a heartbreaking story and it’s one I think everyone should read. I think Netflix recently bought the rights to this book.

The Lovely Bones

     The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

This is a pretty fucked up book, let’s be real here. It’s about Susie Salmon, a teenager in the 70’s who is raped and killed one afternoon on her way home from school. We follow Susie while she’s in “limbo,” watching over her family as
they grieve their loss, who doesn’t know the full story to her murder. The murderer in this book is creepy and parts of this book just made me feel gross reading it. It seriously is an amazing book. Don’t judge this book on the movie if you’ve seen it. The movie doesn’t give this book justice at all.

926e1-roomRoom by Emma Donoghue 

I’m sure everyone knows what this book is about by now, given the movie’s huge success during award season. This book is told from the perspective of 5 year old Jack, who has been held captive with his Ma in a room his entire life. We follow their life in Room and also their journey trying to escape from their captor Old Nick. It’s a tough novel to read, but so very worth it. I highly recommend the film, as well. It was beautifully done and faithful to the book. Brie Larson was the absolute perfect choice to play Ma.

9f0bd-finding2baudrey

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Coming from someone who suffers from anxiety, I really enjoyed the way it was handled in this book. I know most will disagree and that’s your opinion. I was able to connect with
Audrey as she tries to control her anxiety and get her life back again. I really loved how she described her brain as a “lizard brain.” Granted, this isn’t by favorite Sophie Kinsella book, but it’s also not bad. It’s a quick read and it just helps you understand what someone with extreme anxiety has to go through on a day-to-day basis.

f1c7e-salt2bto2bthe2bsea

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

I just recently read this and the story is still stuck with me. It was such a beautifully haunting story. It follows 4 teenagers with different nationalities as they try to fight for their life and freedom in Germany during World War 2. I couldn’t imagine having to go through what they went through. Or see the things that they had to see. I don’t think I have ever been so heartbroken reading a story before. Maybe it’s because I know that it’s real? The character’s may be fake, but the situations that they went through are real. Mothers really did throw their babies, thinking they were throwing them to safety, only to watch them hit the side of a boat and fall to their death. It was so tough to read but I’m so glad that I did. It really make you grateful for the life you have right now.


Have you read any of these books and agree? Leave a link down below to your T5W posts if you made one! Also, please leave me some book suggestions to help me get out of this damn slump!

30 thoughts on “Books with Hard Topics | Top 5 Wednesday

  1. Nice post! You should read November 9 by Colleen Hoover, if you haven’t already. It pulled me outta my slump. Maybe switch to fantasy instead of contemps. Sometimes, they put me in a slump, too. I have Never Never, the Peter Pan one if you want to borrow the ebook. What else? I still want to read The Shadow Queen and Young Elites. Maybe check one of them out. Dorothy Must Die sounds good, too.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I picked up a couple of fantasy books but none have hooked me yet. I already own Never Never, but thank you! My husband started Dorothy Must Die but didn’t finish before we had to return it back to the library. He did say he liked what he read so I’ll have to go back and check it out again and read it next time around.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I liked Red Queen. That one really hooked me in, and there’s a sequel, so if you like it you’d have 2 books to get you going. I have a whole list… I posted a bunch on Sunday. Everyone who commented helped me pick my books for Genrethon and it really helped with my slump.

        Like

  2. I didn’t know The Lovely Bones was a book! I’ve watched the movie so many times already.
    I also have to get my hands on Salt to the Sea. I don’t know why I haven’t read it cause I love historical fiction so much.

    Like

    1. Yes! The movie was a terrible adaptation. Nothing like the book. It’s a good movie apart from the book, though. Salt to the Sea was freaking amazing. I loved it so much that I’ve bought two more of her books because her writing is just phenomenal.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh wow! You’ll love Salt to the Sea then. I’ve heard that one of the MC in SttS is kin to a MC in BSoG! So I’m sure that will make the reading experience even better for you. I still need to read BSoG. I’m such a huge slump right now though that I’m scared if I start reading it then my slump will make me not like it so much lol

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Exactly! I’m thinking my only option now is to reread a book I haven’t read in years to get me out of this. I’ve picked up so many books and nothing is getting me out of this lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. See, I think it was reading too many eh contemporaries that got me in this dang slump! haha I’ve tried to read some fantasy books but none of them are catching my eye.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’ve always been more of a contemp fan and I think it’s getting the best of me right now haha. Heck, maybe I’ll read some nonfiction. I need something to get me out of this.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey there! I really enjoyed your top 5! As someone who also suffers from anxiety, I will make sure to read “Finding Audrey” to see how Sophie Kinsella has handle it. I must confess it will be my first read for this author. I will trust your word that it is good.

    Like

    1. I really enjoyed it. It’s not my favorite book by her by any means but I think it puts a different look at the topic.

      Like

Leave a reply

