The Intimidating TBR Tag

I saw Jaed over at The Bibliophile Blogs do this tag! Or well, let’s be real, I’ve seen this tag pretty much everywhere. But she’s a newbie blogger like myself and deserves a shout out, so go check her blog out now! It’s gorgeous.

Anyway, this tag was started by Lindsey ReyLindsey Rey so go check out her videos! Especially if you love fantasy.


What book have you been unable to finish?

I unfortunately have a lot of answers for this question. Two recent ones are A Stolen Kiss by Kelsey Keating and Letters to Zell by Camille Griep. Both are fairytale retellings that are labeled as YA but read more middle grade to me. Or well…the content in Letters to Zell is definitely not middle grade, but the writing is.

What book have you not read yet because…

…you just haven’t had the time?

The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien. It’s not a big book by any means, but I know I’m going to have to really focus on the story to fully understand everything that is going on. Plus I know I won’t be able to pronounce 95% of the names or places in this book.

…it’s a sequel?

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas. It took me forever to get through Throne of Glass. Then I started The Assassin’s Blade and it took me 2 weeks just to get half way through — still haven’t made it any further in the last 2 months since I’ve put it down. This is a book I’m planning on at least picking up and trying this week though for Genrethon.

…it’s brand new?

I just got my order from Book Outlet today and got a couple of books that I’m extremely excited to read. One being Jackaby by William Ritter. It sounds so freaking cool! And the cover is gorgeous.

…you read a book by the same author and didn’t enjoy it?

Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian. I read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and hated it so damn much. It’s one of those books that I knew I didn’t like while reading it but then thought it was only ok when I finished. But now the more I think about it, the more I really disliked that book. I’m hoping I enjoy the Burn for Burn trilogy though.  Just scared to start it.

…you’re just not in the mood for it?

I’m pretty sure half of my books can be an answer for this. I’m going to go with The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa. I’ve heard great things about this series and the author, but I’m not a huge vampire fan so I’m a little skeptical to start it.

…it’s humongous?

The Diviners by Libba Bray. I want to read this so badly but the size of it scares me!

…it was a cover by that turned out to have bad reviews?

City of Dark Magic by Magnus Flyte. The cover and the synopsis sold me on this book. It has a 3.45 on Good Reads, which I suppose isn’t that bad. But it still worries me because the book sounds so freaking awesome.

What is the most intimidating book in your TBR pile?

Angels and Demons and The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown. I’m cheating with 2 since it’s a part of the same series. I watched The DaVinci Code movie and was completely blown away by it. I really want to give the books a try, but they are just so damn intimidating. It might be a few years before I actually gather up the courage to read them.

13 thoughts on “The Intimidating TBR Tag

  1. I also want to read the Diviners, The Hobbit and get into the Throne of Glass series, but the first one is huge, the hobbit has (like you said) vocabulary that I won’t even know how to pronouce and the Throne of Glass is so hyped that I am incredibly scared of not liking it (not because I would go against everyone else but because it’s incredibly annoying to get all hyped and then become disappointed… I don’t want to go into a book slump over it).

    Great tag!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s how I feel too! I chose Crown of Midnight to read during genrethon but I’m scared it’ll make my slump even worse. I really want to get to Diviners and The Hobbit. Hopefully soon. Fingers crossed!

      Like

  2. I read the hobbit, and until I read it I was so intimidated by it as well! It’s a really good book, though it does take some time to get through. The Throne of Glass series is one of my favorites, so I hope when you pick up Crown of Midnight you enjoy it!

    Like

    1. I know I’m going to enjoy The Hobbit — I just can’t get over my fear to read it quite yet! haha. I’ll be picking Crown of Midnight up very soon! 🙂

      Like

  3. Hey! Thank you for the shout out! 😁
    I’ve also been wanting to read Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas but I just can’t find the time to do so. 😣
    Jackaby sounds so interesting and I absolutely loved Sherlock so I might add that to my list. 😁

    Like

      1. It wasn’t the most amazing thing ever. I got a bit annoying with the writing a little, but it was quite witty. It reminds me of Sherlock meets Doctor Who.

        Like

Leave a reply

