Intimidating Books | Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday is a book meme hosted by Samantha over at Thoughts on Tomes. You can keep up with other T5W posts on the GoodReads page

So I know that I just recently did the Intimidating TBR Tag, but I didn’t nearly go into all of the books that I’m intimidated by. I figured this would be a good way to show you how much of a scaredy cat I am when it comes to reading.


Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson:  I’m intimated because a) it’s huge b) it’s high fantasy c) I probably won’t understand anything and it’ll take me a year to read.

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee: To Kill A Mockingbird is one of my all time favorite books. I’m scared to read this because I heard rumors that one of my favorite fictional characters turns out to be an asshole and I’m not quite fond of that. I know I need to give it a read soon, but I’ll take my time.

Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout: The only reason this is on my list is because I read Obsidian and hated it. I hated it so much. But I soon realized that I was expecting way too much of this series. It was so hyped up about it being amazing and that Daemon is so swoonworthy and I didn’t catch any of that. When I start it back up, I need to go in with low expectations and with the idea to just have fun and not take it so seriously.

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak: The hype has me on this one. I’m scared I won’t like it because of how dang hyped this book is. It’s a book I know I’ll enjoy, but still.. the hype usually gets me.

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith: Plain and simple — it’s J.K. Rowling. What if I read this and I don’t like it? You can’t not like J.K. Rowling. It’s a sin.


There you have it — completely random but it’s there. I need to get over my fear of big books and just go for it. I’m reading Passenger now which will be the chunkiest book I’ve read this year, which is pretty sad to me. Let 2016 be the year where I get over my fear!

( I had to leave this with a rhyme, you know… )
9 thoughts on “Intimidating Books | Top 5 Wednesday

  1. I was so disappointed at The Casual Vacancy that I was wary to start The Cuckoo’s Calling, but I really enjoyed it, although it would be better not thinking about it as a J.K Rowling book, because we’ll probably never be satisfied if we expect all of her books to be as amazing as HP. It did not let me down, but it is not mind-blowing either. It’s a solid good read. I haven’t read any Harper Lee, they’re too intimidating!
    How is it going with Passenger?

    Like

    1. Definitely read To Kill A Mockingbird. At least sometime this year. It’s so amazing. It has such an amazing story to tell that relates to even our times still (which is kind of sad)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

