Passenger by Alexandra Bracken | Book Review

 

I’m a bit wary on posting this review because this will be my first time reviewing something I didn’t enjoy at all. Knowing this is an extremely popular book and author, I’m kind of scared that people are going to pop out from the woodwork and completely tear me a new ass. Just hear me out, ok?


Passenger was the first book to be chosen as a part of the Hype or Like Fridays book club started by myself, Larkin and Jill. We were all so excited to get into Passenger because we all heard amazing things about it. The cover is absolutely stunning and the plot seemed so promised. I mean.. time travel? Yes please!? Pirates? Hell to the yes!!

everything i ever wanted.gif

But then….this book as a whole was just boring. So damn boring. It took about 200 pages for us to even know what the hell was going on. I’m sorry, but if it takes almost half a damn book for us to even understand what the plot of the story is, I’m not going to be happy. I’m honestly surprised I finished this. I normally DNF books if I’m not feeling them, but I felt like it would be kind of sad if all 3 of us didn’t have a review up for Passenger because we all didn’t like it.

sleep

Insta-love? Eh. Chapters full of info-dump dialogue with flat characters? No, thanks. I swear this book could have been around 300 pages and I probably would have enjoyed it a bit more. It took SO long for the actual plot to start happening, and when it did, I was already so over this book and counting down the pages for it to be over with. I even skimmed the last 50 or so pages and read just the dialogue so I could get it over with faster.

no no no.gif

Now, I’m all for descriptions of items and clothing and such. It helps the reader visualize what is going on in the scene. However, I don’t need paragraphs just describing the character’s clothing or pages of ship lingo that I have no clue what they mean. I like to understand what I’m reading and not being going “what the hell?” the entire time.

wtf.gif

That insta-love, though. I knew we were going to experience some romance, but not to this degree. There were so many things about the romance between Nicholas and Etta, but I’ll refrain from going into detail so I don’t spoil anyone who actually wants to read this.

love at first sight

Etta just in general infuriated me. I hate reading books about teenagers who act like they’re in their mid-twenties and not like they haven’t even graduated from high school yet. I understand that teenagers can be mature. I was 17 before, I get it. But I also remember at 17, I wasn’t planning to spend my life with a man I have only known for 3 weeks but am now apparently in love with.

yeah no

Nicholas’ character wasn’t completely awful, besides the whole love at first sight thing with Etta. I didn’t hate him and I honestly can’t really explain why. He just annoyed me less than Etta? I don’t know.

no diea.gif

2 stars.


So.. wrapping up. I really didn’t like this book. It makes me really sad because I was looking forward to it and this was my first Bracken read. I’m still interesting in trying out The Darkest Minds trilogy. Can anyone tell me if I’ll enjoy those although I really didn’t like this one?

Please don’t come at me with torches and pitchforks because I didn’t like this. Different strokes for different folks, alright?

 

16 thoughts on “Passenger by Alexandra Bracken | Book Review

  1. Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy this! I loved The Darkest Minds series, but I’m a little intimidated to read Passenger because of the reasons you listed, the length and all the mixed reviews. I haven’t read Passenger so I can’t completely compare them, but from your review I feel like there’s a lot more action and intensity in TDM. I feel like the characters are all really well developed too. The pacing is still a bit on the slower side though. If you decide to pick them up I hope it’s more enjoyable for you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I honestly don’t recommend it, but you can only see if you like it yourself if you try it out! I’m definitely still going to try TDM though.

      Like

  2. It took me 70 pages to start enjoying it. I thought it would never happen! I found the relationship between Etta and Nicolas to be a little (just a little) more subtle than some others I’ve read recently and with everything that had happened, it did not really bother me. I kept thinking I had read worse. I see I’m not the only one who had issues with ship talks that mean nothing. I thought it was just me being a non-native and insensitive to anything that goes on water.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It definitely wasn’t the worst that I’ve read, but I was just not enjoying the story so much that even their relationship was annoying the hell out of me. I’m glad you were able to enjoy it though!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. haha no!! It makes me feel better!! I was going to DNF, but since it was the first book in our Hype or Like, I figured I needed to atleast finish it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think you should be given a round of applause, perhaps an award or to for even finishing it. This book and I didn’t have the best time together either sadly. But I loved her Darkest Minds series which is nothing at all like this snooze fest. I think the insta love was made worse that Nicholas was from a different time as well and Etta seemed to push him beyond what was comfortable. I just didn’t feel their connection. Wonderful review Britt, hopefully your next read knocks your socks off ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hahaha thank you!! ❤ Thank you so much for reading and commenting! I'm definitely still going to read TDM trilogy. Just maybe not anytime soon so I can get the bad taste of Passenger out of my mind haha

      Like

  4. I gave this book 3 stars. I was so excited to read this because everybody was raving about it plus it has two of my favorite things: pirates and time travel. But it took half the freaking novel for anything of any degree to happen. I put it down and then finally picked it up MONTHS later and finished it. I hate insta-love so much and gosh I really wanted Etta and Nicholas, for once, not to be a couple. I mean really! UGHHHH you just can’t escape the insta love in YA. I love your usage of gifs btw!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I forced myself to finish it so I could write the review for HLF, but it was so painful! I didn’t mind Nicholas as a character, but Etta drove me mad! I don’t mind insta-love sometimes, but this one drove me crazy. Thanks for reading the review!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

