Something Real by Heather Demetrios | Book Review

I think my reading slump has finally been cured.

Lets all gather ’round, hold hands, and praise to Baby Jesus that I am cured because of this book.

This was my first read by Demetrios and by golly, this sure as hell won’t be my last.


                                                     There’s nothing real about reality TV.
Something Real
Seventeen-year-old Bonnie™ Baker has grown up on TV—she and her twelve siblings are the stars of one-time hit reality show Baker’s Dozen. Since the show’s cancellation and the scandal surrounding it, Bonnie™ has tried to live a normal life, under the radar and out of the spotlight. But it’s about to fall apart…because Baker’s Dozen is going back on the air. Bonnie™’s mom and the show’s producers won’t let her quit and soon the life she has so carefully built for herself, with real friends (and maybe even a real boyfriend), is in danger of being destroyed by the show. Bonnie™ needs to do something drastic if her life is ever going to be her own—even if it means being more exposed than ever before.


I was trying to stay away from contemporaries, thinking that they were the reason why I was slumpy. I tried to pick up fantasy and it just wasn’t working (re: Passenger) so I had my husband go to my shelves and randomly choose a book. Alas, he chose this one. Holy cannoli, ya’ll.

This was completely different than any contemporary that I’ve read recently. There was love, hate, loss, depression, evil producer guys, mother who cared about ratings more than her kids, know-it-all stepdad, awesome best friends, AMAZING love interest. This seriously has it all.

saved

Chloe/Bonnie was such a great main character. She was perfectly flawed and witty. I kept telling my husband that she reminded me of myself, with her comebacks and sarcasm. She is a very head-strong person, considering she was born (literally) and raised on TV, experiencing problems and issues that no other “normal” child has to go through. I loved that she stood her ground and followed her beliefs, no matter what the consequences were. It takes a lot to fight with loved ones and I really respect her as a character for not giving up.

PATRICK, YES PLEASE. I had Heath Ledger as Patrick Verona in 10 Things I Hate About You feels the entire time and aahhh. Just yes. I love that it wasn’t insta-lovey. He was so understanding and thoughtful and perfect. I honestly don’t know how to describe his character without saying yaaas a million times.

patrick verona

Her brother, Benny, was adorable as hell. His relationship with his boyfriend was as cute as can be and just made me so happy and ooey-gooey inside when I would read about them. He’s an amazing brother, and friend, to Chloe and supported her immensely when things were going south.

But the parents though…. I just wanted to slap some bitches. Her mother was RIDICULOUS. I wanted to scream at the book the entire time her mother was in the picture, because she was a terrible mom. I understand that sometimes a parent has to do something a child doesn’t like in order to make their lives better, but her mom was just doing things to make HER life better. It seemed like she never took her children’s feelings into perspective and just continued doing whatever she wanted to do, despite the major consequences. There was one scene where her and Chloe were talking in Chloe’s bedroom, and what happened then…. unh-uh. Bitch would have been brought DOWN.

fight

The writing was great. I was engrossed in it the entire time. There wasn’t ever a dull moment. No character was alike. They each had their own voice and personality. The dialogue was quick and witty, especially Chloe and Benny’s. It is just a very unique story, yet so relevant to the times now.

I honestly couldn’t ever imagine growing up in front of  the entire world like celebrities’ children or reality stars like Kendall & Kylie Jenner or the kids the from Jon & Kate Plus 8. It might seem fun to us, but what we don’t realize is what goes on behind the scenes. What actually is going on in their lives and not just what they portray to the media. It made me realize how much “celebrity gossip” is actually true or just what the media is making up to get a story going. I value my privacy very much, and it’s only right to value other’s privacy, as well. It’s the golden rule: “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” What do ya’ll think? Leave me your opinions in the comments.

Needless to say,  I found a new favorite author and I can’t wait to dive in to more of her books. I highly, highly recommend this book. Especially if you’re in a reading slump! Mine was bad, ya’ll, and Heather saved me.

happy.gif

4/5 stars.

One thought on “Something Real by Heather Demetrios | Book Review

Leave a reply

