Mini-Reviews | #1

So I read a bunch of so-so books in May that people have said they wanted reviews on. So instead of wasting posts on reviews that are only a few sentences long, I decided to just combine them all into one mass mini review post. Let me know if you like this concept and I’ll continue doing them! πŸ™‚

Click the books to take you to their Good Reads page for more info on the book.


b5f4c-legend83a83-prodigyChampion

Legend trilogy by Marie Lu Β — overall rating: 3 stars

I have mixed feelings about this trilogy, to be honest. I completely devoured the first book in a couple of days, then it took me a month to read Prodigy. I forced myself to read Champion last month but found myself just kind of skimming the last few pages so I could get it over with.

I feel like I’m a black sheep when it comes to this series. I didn’t like the direction where the story went. The first book left me in awe and I was so pumped to continue on, but just disconnected from the story. I got the point where I just didn’t care what happened to the characters, I just wanted it to be over with already. I think that everything could have been summarized in a duology and that things were extremely drawn out. The ending pissed me off. Day drove me completely mad. Tess was annoying. I’m still interested in reading more of Marie Lu’s writing. I just hate that me and this world couldn’t agree with each other.


Smut

Smut by Karina Halle — 5 stars.Β 

I loved the damn HELL out of this book. I was really needing a carefree, fun contemporary and this definitely delivered. The characters were amazing. I loved the writing style. The scenes were y’know…on point, if you know what I mean. It just made me happy. I read this book in less than 24 hours because I just wanted to stay with the characters more. I cared about them — individually and together. The side characters were great and were a great add on to the story. I loved that one of the main characters, Amanda, was a huge nerd because it made her so much more relatable to me. If you’re in the mood for a fun, hot new adult romance — definitely pick this one up!


Cruel Beauty

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge — 2 stars.

Another one of those books where I just didn’t really care. It’s very different that anything Β I’ve ever read with the mythology and gothic romance themes and it’s a Beauty and the Beast retelling. Beauty and the Beast is my favorite Disney movie so I was just expecting a little more from this. I felt like the romance was just random. It went from 0 to 100 for me and I honestly can’t tell you the moment that our main character, Nyx, realized she was in love with the “Gentle Lord.” I liked the castle, where there were thousands of doors and you never knew what door would open to where. But, I didn’t like the fact that we didn’t have any world building. I didn’t know what the hell was going on, besides a little of why their world is the way it is. But more information would’ve been great. The characters were just eh. Β The world was just eh. It was an all around just eh book to me.

The opening sentence was pretty great though. “I was raised to marry a monster.” Too bad the story went downhill from there.


The Winner's Curse

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski — 3 stars.Β 

This was the book of the month for May for HLF, but I just couldn’t process my thoughts of this book for a proper review. All I can say is that I liked it. It was interesting and different. It’s very character driven, so if you get annoyed with the characters then you won’t end up liking this. It’s a very politically based book, which is something I don’t read often, but enjoyed it here. I like how our main character, Kestrel, isn’t a bad ass warrior and knows she can’t fight well, but still tries her damn hardest and doesn’t give up. I feel like I was a disconnected with Arin’s character and I don’t exactly care for him too much. I am planning on continuing with the series, so maybe my mind will change the more I get into it.


Crown of Midnight

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas — 4 stars.

I was pleasantly surprised by this. I honestly wasn’t a huge fan of Throne of Glass.. I just thought it was okay. But people I’ve talked to who said they also didn’t like ToG, but continued on, said they loved Crown of Midnight..and I can totally see why. My issue during the first half of it was slow. But then I was told that is just how Maas writes her books — she does a slow character/world build at the beginning to set everything up for shit to happen and man…did shit get real. I completely flew through the second half of this book and immediately bought Heir of Fire afterwards because I needed more. I think it’s safe to say I’m officially a Maasaholic. Oh and Chaol is my baby and I will love him forever and ever.


Phew… that was difficult. I hope you enjoyed these reviews and that they helped you in any way. Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and agree/disagree with anything I’ve had to say. I’d love to discuss it! ❀

9 thoughts on “Mini-Reviews | #1

  1. Yay for mini reviews! That was fast. I’m definitely buying Smut. I kept seeing it all over my Amazon, but I was afraid to buy it until I read some reviews from people I trust. I’m glad you liked it. I think I need a break from my hockey romances and fantasies. I’m glad I asked about Cruel Beauty. That would’ve been a definite cover buy if I hadn’t read your review. I need to start reading all the books I bought. I’m the worst. And I was thinking about going to Books-A- Million tomorrow. πŸ™ˆ Shame on me! I’m such a book hoarder. lol.

    Like

    1. haha I’ve been doing so good about reading the books I’ve bought! I honestly have bought only 3 physical copies of books in the last like..3 months? and only a small handful of Kindle books, but they were all on sale. Cruel Beauty was ok. I don’t think it would be something you would like though.

      Like

  2. Oof, I’m sorry to hear that the Legend series goes so far downhill. I read and enjoyed Legend a few years ago, and have been meaning to finish the series. Well, I do enjoy writing ranting reviews; maybe I’ll get some enjoyment out of the series, anyway. You’ve definitely made me curious about how bad/angering it gets!

    “Meh” was my response to Cruel Beauty, too.

    And hey, someone else who isn’t in love with The Winner’s Curse! I disliked it more than you, but it’s refreshing to meet someone else who isn’t obsessed with it. πŸ˜€

    I’ll have to look into Smut sometime soon. Great mini reviews!

    Like

  3. Doing a bunch of mini reviews is such a great idea! I’ve been meaning to do it myself for a while but just haven’t gotten around to it yet. Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy “Cruel Beauty” I read Hodge’s other book “Crimson Bound” and had the same issue with wondering what the heck was going on and why. Looks like I probably won’t be enjoying this one that much either.
    I’m SO glad to hear that “Crown of Midnight” is worth reading! I wasn’t a huge fan of “Throne of Glass” but I’ve been hearing lots of other people liked the sequel better as well so I’ll have to give it a shot! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cruel Beauty was just strange. I’m interested in picking up Crimson Bound, though, to see if I like that one better now that I’m accustomed to the writing.
      Crown of Midnight was really enjoyable! It took until the last 25% of the book for me to really enjoy it, but I did immediately buy Heir of Fire right after I finished lol. I just got A Court of Thorns and Roses at the library yesterday. Interested to see what all of the hype is about!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well if I can push my way through Throne of Glass I can do it with Crown of Midnight too then since it seems more promising!
        I recently got ACOTAR and am interested to see what the fuss is about there as well! Although everyone says the sequel is better so I’ll push my way through this one first too! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

