Get Out of That Damn Slump | Britt Recommends

It’s pretty common for me to fall into reading slumps and it’s a huge pain the ass trying to get out of it! Over the past year or so, I’ve found a few books that have definitely helped me pull myself out of a slump and power through more books on my shelf. Hopefully these work for you the same way they did for me!


My Life Next Door

 My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

So I was in a huge reading slump from 2010-2014. I just wasn’t in the mood to read anything. One day, I decided to pick this up on a whim. I ended up reading it cover to cover that night and fell in love with reading all over again. I really loved Sam & Jase’s relationship and how they overcame all of the obstacles that got thrown their way. I loved the family dynamic and that you see a lot of it in the book, which is rare in YA.

Amy & Roger

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Morgan Matson is the queen of summer contemporaries — it’s just a fact. This was my first book by her and I was completely blown away. I became extremely attached to Amy and
Roger. I could relate to Amy in so many ways. A fun thing about this is the author actually went on the same road trip that Amy & Roger took and includes mementos from her trip like playlists, pictures, and receipts. Of course I read this completely through.

The Start of Me and You

The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

Nothing like reading a summer contemporary in December to pull you out of a slump! I
picked this up at the end of 2015 and again — read this in one sitting. It’s heartbreaking yet extremely moving, seeing how Paige transforms and starts living life after the sudden death of her boyfriend. It will definitely tear at your heart strings a bit, but it definitely does the job of pulling you out of your slump!

b5f4c-legend

Legend by Marie Lu 

So.. yes, I did have some issues with the series in it’s entirety BUT this book was like crack. It’s set in dystopian America, where America is split into two countries named The Republic and The Colonies – and there is about to be war.  I went into this completely blind and it blew me the heck away. I really enjoyed the characters in this book in particular and the setting.  I highly recommend this series if you want to be left on the edge of your seat with tons of action and crazy plot twists!

Daughter of Smoke & Bone

 Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

This series is a fantasy set in Prague and it’s a complete mind fuck. I’ve never read anything like this before. It’s so creative, yet confusing, but also beautiful and insane. You get extremely attached to the characters and the world. She writes in so many different perspectives, but that is what makes this book SO interesting.If you read any book from this list, please please let it be this one! You won’t regret it.


Hopefully these recommendations will help you get out of your reading slump! If you’ve read these, leave me a comment if you liked them and if you agree with me!

Doing this inspired me to do a post of books that I’ve read in one sitting, so if you’re interested in that, let me know!

18 thoughts on “Get Out of That Damn Slump | Britt Recommends

  1. Ooh great recommendations! I’ve read AMY AND ROGER’S EPIC DETOUR, LEGEND and DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE.. I might just read Emery Lord’s START OF YOU AND ME.. I think another contemporary will help me since they’re so quick and light

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Giselle! Start of Me and You would be great! It’s light and quick, like you said, but still packs a punch that makes it a little bit more than just an average fluffy contemp. I hope you end up liking it!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read a couple of fantasy let downs recently, too! Daughter of Smoke and Bone completely blew most of the fantasies I’ve read out of the water. Which ones were a let down for you?

      Like

      1. ah no! I’ve heard great things about The Star Touched Queen. Hate you didn’t like it!

        Like

  2. My Life Next Door is soooo good. I have it on my kindle; I need to get it in paperback.

    I tend to go for contemporary when I’m trying to get out of a slump. Especially since the majority of my TBR is high fantasy. I need to add The Start of You and Me to my “Dump That Slump” list!

    Like

  3. Great list of books, Britt! I loved My Life Next Door and Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour. I went through a reading slump not to long ago and a couple audiobooks got me out of it. 🙂
    New email follower

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for following, Jess! I really appreciate it and hope you enjoy future posts. I’ve tried my hand at audiobooks, but I can never pay attention. I always find myself zoning out while listening haha. What books got you out of your slump?!

      Like

    1. Agreed!! It was so wonderful. I finished the 2nd book at the beginning of this month and though it wasn’t my favorite, it was still extremely enjoyable. Can’t wait to finish the series.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

