Books Around the World | Monthly Recommendations

This monthly tag was made by Trina @ Between Chapters and Kayla @ Kayla Rayne on YouTube. 

This year I decided to venture outside of the mostly contemporary, set in America realm of books and branch out to books that are set in different worlds and countries. Thankfully, I’ve realized that I actually enjoy those books more than the boring and repetitive YA contemps I mostly picked up. I really enjoy reading everyone’s posts and watching their videos to see what other amazing books that I’m missing out on!


Daughter of Smoke & Bone

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

This fantasy series is hands down one of my favorite series of all time. The beginning of the series is mostly set in Prague, but gravitates to Morocco and a “magical” world. The way the author describes all the different locations is just breathtaking. She has this amazing way to make you feel like you’re there with the characters. If you haven’t read this yet, please please please do yourself a favor a read it. It’s just amazing.

f1c7e-salt2bto2bthe2bsea

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

Want your heart completely torn out & stomped to pieces? Read this. It’s set in Germany(I think?) during WWII and refugees are trying to make their way to the coast to board the Willhem Gustloff to reach safety. You follow 4 different points of views, all different nationalities. What hurt me the most while reading this is the fact that it’s based on the biggest maritime disaster in history, killing thousands. And you thought that Titanic was bad?! This book gives you all the feels and makes you feel extremely grateful that you didn’t have to live during this awful time period.

Revolution

Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly 

While this book wasn’t the greatest thing I’ve ever read, it still was pretty interesting. You have two main characters — one set in modern day France and the other in France during the Elizabethan era. I’ve never read anything set during that time period and it was extremely interesting!

Passenger

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken 

I’m gonna be real with you: I hated this book. I had so many issues with the characters and the pacing of this story drove me absolutely insane. However, if you really want to travel around the world in books, this is the book for you. You travel to atleast 4 different countries in different time periods, and the descriptions the author wrote were really nice. I’m in the minority when it comes this book, so if you like time travel, diverse characters and traveling around the world, you should at least give it a shot. Just be warned.

36d6a-confessions2bof2ba2bshopaholic

Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

Now if you want to read something that’s just plain fun, definitely pick up this series. Or rather anything by Kinsella. Her books are mostly set in England, but has ventured to New York City in a book or two. Her characters are absolutely hilarious; there’s never a dull moment. This is one of my favorite series to go to when I just need a good laugh and not have to read anything too serious.


I hope ya’ll enjoyed this list! Let me know if you enjoyed any of these books, or if I missed any awesome books that should have been on this list! I’m always open for reading more books from around the world!

2 thoughts on “Books Around the World | Monthly Recommendations

Leave a reply

