10 Books I Will Never Read | Top 10 Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week there’s a new topic for a top ten list.

There are so many book trends that I’ve missed during my 5 year reading drought and I have no intention on reading most of them. A few are books that are loved dearly around this community, so I’m sorry if you feel like I’m “bashing” the book or the author — I’m not. It’s just simply that it’s not for me. Everybody can’t like the same thing.

Let’s do this.


The Fallen series

fallen series

I’m not a huge fan of books about angels. Plus, I’ve heard a lot of crappy things about this series so I’m just not going to even try.

The Girl Who Fell

The Girl Who Fell

I was actually really excited for this book at first, but once I realized what it was really about I decided that it’ll probably be in my best interest not to pick it up for personal reasons. I really hope it opens up young girl’s eyes to realize who the good guys are, though.

The Divergent series

divergent-series

It honestly just never interested me. I already know the spoilers and everything, so just feels like it’d be a waste of time.

The Matched series

Matched series

I heard the first book was really good, but the sequels fell flat. Again, just not worth my time.

The Mortal Instruments series

TMI series

I tried really, really hard. I picked this book up about 5 different times and kept pushing to read it.  I just couldn’t ever get into it.

A Song of Ice and Fire series

ASOIAF series

Honestly just doesn’t seem like something I would enjoy. Plain and simple.

The Hunger Games series

THG series

Same with TMI series, I just couldn’t get into the first book, no matter how hard I tried.

The Maze Runner series

TMR series

I was really interested in reading this series, but after being told that the sequels suck, I decided to stay away.

The Uglies series

uglies

I tried to read Uglies a few years ago, but again, couldn’t get into it.

The Vampire Academy series

vampire academy series

Surprise! I couldn’t get into the first book in the series, either. I’m not a huge vampire fan, either, so there’s that.


I hope I didn’t offend anyone! Let me know if ya’ll agree with any of these in the comments or what books you’ll never read!

16 thoughts on “10 Books I Will Never Read | Top 10 Tuesday

      1. If it serves a purpose, yes, I agree. I don’t like when authors just throw things into their novels for no reason.

        Like

    1. I read the first half of the book, but wasn’t interested and put it down. I watched a little bit of the movie, hoping it’ll convince me to pick the book back up, but it was so terrible that I decided I didn’t even want to continue on lol. At least they’re fun though!! Sometimes that’s just all you need in a book.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You have some of my favs on here. I agree with you on Divergent. I wish I could unread that entire waste of time series. And I totally get The Girl Who Fell. I’m so tempted to read that one to see how it turns out for her, but I don’t think I’m in the mood to have my stomach torn apart with all the violence. I have a hard time with those kind of books. I also can’t get into The Mortal Instruments. I made it 10% before I said nah. But you know how picky I am. Throne of Glass is a series I have zero interest in reading. The writing quality doesn’t warrant all the praise.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Throne of Glass isn’t that bad, to be honest. It’s not the greatest by any means, but SJM knows what she’s doing when it comes to setting up characters and crazy plot twists. Her books take so long to get into though, because she’s doing character & world development, but then hits you like a pound of bricks in the last half of her books with complete craziness. I’d still recommend if you want to just read something fun and not worry about criticizing.

      Like

  2. I love when people talk about books they don’t want to read, haha. I don’t even know why it’s just so interesting, haha. I LOVE Vampire Academy, but I can definitely see why you wouldn’t wanna read it if you’re not into the whole vampire/paranormal thing. I didn’t think I’d like it either, but it’s so addicting haha. I loved the first two Maze Runner books, but the last one made me wish I never read the series. I struggled hardcore with the first Mortal Instruments book and I’m going to try to read the second one, but I really don’t think it’s for me. I haven’t finished The Hunger Games either. And I’ve had Fallen and the first GoT book on my shelf for YEARS and I honestly don’t know if I’ll ever read them, haha.

    Like

  3. You’re definitely not missing out on anything with the Fallen series, I read the first book and thought it was awful. I also read the first book in the TMI series and am not interested at all in finishing it either, I’m really glad it isn’t just me! 🙂

    Like

Leave a reply

