Settings I Want to See More Of | T5W

Top 5 Wednesday is a book meme originated by Lainey at Ginger Reads Lainey and is now hosted by Samantha over at Thoughts on Tomes. You can keep up with other T5W posts on the GoodReads page

Finally a topic I can contribute to! I’m still trying to catch up on the years of not reading, so I feel like most of my lists or tags become repetitive when I continue to use the same books and characters over and over again. Since I’m also reading books that are mostly out of my comfort zone, I’ve discovered worlds and time periods that I’ve learned I actually really enjoy and would love to see more from.


The 1920’s

chaplin.gif

After reading and loving The Diviner’s by Libba Bray, I fell even more in love with the 1920’s. I just love how people branch out and become more sassy and adventurous. They do things that they enjoy doing, regardless on whether it’s socially acceptable. I also love all of their lingo! I wish I could start saying some of the phrases they did back then without looking crazy.

Elizabethan Era

marie antoinette

I never thought that I would be even slightly intrigued about this time period. I read Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly in May and was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed reading about people during this time! I loved learning about the royalty and also how much of a difference their lifestyle is compared to the civilians.

1940’s-1960’s. 

audrey hepburn

This time period has always interested me. Everyone tells me that I’m an old spirit and that I was born in the wrong decade and I completely agree. I know the way women, or rather everyone who wasn’t a white male, were treated was terrible. But y’know what? They were badasses and inspirational. I would love to read more about the Civil Rights movement or The Kennedy’s. Maybe even throw me in some Mad Men inspired stuff, because that show is hella addicting.

Boarding Schools

hogwarts.gif

Harry Potter got me hooked on magical boarding schools. Then I read Hex Hall and Anna and the French Kiss and became even more addicted. I just think the idea of it is so school. I kind of wish I was shipped off to some awesome school and meet the love of my life in Paris or Hogwarts.

Road Trips

road trip.gif

So, it’s not technically an exact setting. But road trips can take you all over! One of my Bucket List items is to take a cross-country road trip and just visit as many random places as I can. America isn’t just LA, Vegas and New York, guys. I’m just gonna take my inner Morgan Matson and be crazy and have fun.


Do ya’ll agree with anything on my list? If you have any book suggestions for any of the settings that I chose, please please leave me a comment below or hit me up on Twitter! @__brittbryan

5 thoughts on “Settings I Want to See More Of | T5W

Leave a reply

