Book Traveling Thursdays | #2

Book Traveling Thursdays is a  meme started by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Reads Too Much. They have a Good Reads group that you can join where they post all of the month’s themes. You just need to post the original cover, cover from your country and your favorite & least favorite covers. 


Today is my birthday! I’m now 24, which I’m sure seems ancient to most of ya’ll lol. I still wanted to get a post up, though, so here we go!

This week’s theme is Your Favorite Book of the Year So Far.

I’ve read some amazing books so far this year, a few actually ending up on the all-time favorites list. This week I chose Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. She completely tore my heart out with this novel set in WWII. I simply can’t recommend this one enough.

f1c7e-salt2bto2bthe2bseaSalt to the Sea -- favoriteSalt to the Sea -- awful cover German

Original US cover, English paperback, Germany

The original cover is gorgeous and amazing on it’s own. But I’m also extremely keen to the English paperback edition. The barbed wire turned into birds, the glittering sea. It’s beautiful yet haunting at the same time. I’m honestly thinking I might have to get this copy to add to my collection. I don’t know what the hell is going on in the Germany version. I get the ocean and the life saver, but did it have to be so randomly placed?


Which version is your favorite?! Let me know in the comments below. You can add Salt to the Sea to your GoodReads here. You can also purchase yourself a copy of this book (which I highly, highly recommend you do so) on Amazon here.

12 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays | #2

  1. Happy Birthday! 🎉 If 24 is ancient, what do you make of 25???? xD I feel prehistoric!
    The German publishers drowned it I think! I love the original version, it looks so powerful and inviting!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This book is actually on my books to buy list. It sounds pretty good. Saw a few people on youtube talk about it and I really want to get it.
    I love love love the original US cover, although I must say usually the US covers are the best!

    P.S. Happy Birthday!!!
    chloreads.blogspot.co.uk 😊💙

    Liked by 1 person

    1. its such a beautiful book. i still go back and think about it. it made me have a major book hangover.
      thank you!!

      Like

  3. Happy Birthday! Hope you had a good one 😀 And I love the original cover…there’s something sad about it, which totally strikes with the tone of the book! The English cover is also gorgeous–it’s simple, and it works. The German cover isn’t too bad actually, because it does look like a novel set during a war, haha. Great post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you!!! i agree, there is something sad about it. the 2nd one is a little too happy lol the 3rd one looks like a book you would have to read in school

      Like

  4. Happy Birthday! I really want to read Salt to the Sea, it’s on my to buy list!
    Also, I wanted to let you know I tagged you in the Infinity Dreams Award Tag up on my blog 😀

    Like

Leave a reply

