June Wrap Up & Mini Trope Rant

So…June didn’t go as I’d hoped.

I completed 3 books. 1 graphic novel. DNF’d another.

However…I started 11 books. That’s right. E-FREAKING-LEVEN.

Here’s how June went…


Days of Blood and Starlight

Started off with Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor. It moved a lot slower that I imagined, but the writing was still just as good. I know second books in series are usually “fillers” for all of the massive shit that is going to happen in the final book, but I was just bored most of the time. It felt repetitive. I wanted more action. I wanted more Karou & Akiva scenes. Thank God for Zuze, who saved the book from complete boredom and was just her amazing self. I have a girl crush on her. 3 of 5 stars.

The Diviners

I moved on to The Diviners by Libba Bray for my first book in the Tome Topple. I’ve had this book my shelf for about two years and have always been intimidated by the size. THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING. It creeped me the hell out. So bad that I had to have my husband stay in the bathroom while I showered because I thought Naughty John was going to come get me. (Yes, I’m still a baby, I know.) I am so, so, so happy I finally picked this one up. 4 of 5 stars.

Second Chance Summer

My last completed book of the month was Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson. I had this book really hyped in my mind because 1) Matson is one of my favorite contemporary writers and 2) this one has been pegged as everyone’s favorite. But it just fell flat for me. Coming from someone who also had to watch their sick dad deteriorate, I knew what the characters were going through. I literally have been in their positions before and it sucks. But that was the only way I was able to connect with the characters. I felt like they didn’t really have any personalities and just fell flat. I was a huge and complete mess at the end of the book, though. It hit way too close to home for me. But though it wasn’t my favorite, it wasn’t bad and I’m still glad I was able to push myself through it. 3 of 5 stars.

Pride and Prejudice G

So this is where the slump comes in. I’ve picked up countless books trying to get through them and none of them are really peaking my interest. I picked up the Pride and Prejudice graphic novel, hoping it’ll help me get out of it, but it made it worse because it was so weird. The art was just strange and I didn’t enjoy the dialogue and just meh. I prefer reading the novel any day.

The Grace's

Then I was accepted to read The Graces by Laure Eve, which I was provided by Net Galley for a free and honest review. The premise sounds so promising and the cover is insanely gorgeous, but I really didn’t enjoy reading it. I ended up DNF’ing it 20%. The characters were annoying me. I know that’s a cop out, but I really can’t like books if all of the characters just suck at being people.

angry1

Also, while I’m at it, I’ve noticed so many novels about girls who completely ruins their lives for some stupid boy. WHY IS THIS OKAY?! Women are so much more stronger than that. Do NOT let some guy tell you what to do, what to wear, that you need to work out, who you’re allowed to be friends with. HE IS NOT WORTH IT. And honestly, he probably has issues of his own that he needs to work out on HIS own and not drag you through it. TRUST ME. I wasted 5 years of my life with said stupid boy and finally grown and learned from it.

angry.gif

I absolutely hate this trope, if you can’t tell.


So that was my pitiful June TBR, but hopefully I can kick some ass and work through these books I’m currently in the middle of. How was ya’lls reading month?! Leave me links to your wrap ups below. πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “June Wrap Up & Mini Trope Rant

  1. The cover for the sequel to Daughter of Smoke and Bone is pretty badass. Too bad you didn’t like the book. 50 Shades also had cool covers and sucked, so I guess there’s that. πŸ˜‰ And so did Twilight. Speaking of those books, they fall into your most hated trope. Girls letting girls ruin their lives. Yeah, what’s up with that in books? That’s not at all empowering for women, especially not for young girls. The Diviners sounds awesome! I’ve had it on my Kindle for a really long time. I should probably get around to it at some point. We’re reading The Song of Achilles for Hype or Like next month. Did you say you’ve already read it? Oh, and it’s after midnight, so ya know what that means… Happy Birthday! πŸΈπŸ·πŸΉπŸŽ‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I still liked it! I def still recommend you to read the series! I never noticed that I hated this trope until I read The Graces, though. It finally just came to me. And no, I haven’t read Song of Achilles yet. I’ll have to see if my library has it so I can join in with you guys! I want to read it. The Diviners is awesome. Get to it ASAP. & thanks boo <333

      Like

  2. Such a shame that you didn’t really like the second book of the daughter of smoke and bone series! I don’t remember much of it, read it a while ago, but I remember thinking that things were kinda weird. Still need to read part three though :’) (I totally agree with you on the girl-boy relationship thing in books)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i think it was just your typical filler book. i liked it LOADS better than other 2nd books in trilogies i’ve read if that means anything. i need to buy the 3rd one first!! lol

      and yeah — its annoying, isnt it?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 3 books is still a good effort when you consider the sizes of Days of Blood and Starlight and The Diviners – it’s almost like you actually read 5 or 6 books πŸ˜‚ It’s a shame to hear that Blood and Starlight wasn’t as good as Smoke and Bone. I’ll be really interested to see what I think. What you said about The Diviners has definitely made me even more excited to read it! I love creepy books. Shame to hear that you DNF’d The Graces too. It sounded really interesting!

    And oh my god, I HATE that trope SO MUCH. It’s one of the worst and it needs to stop.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. haha that is an awesome way to think of things! Makes me feel a bit better lol .Blood & Starlight was still a really good read, especially if you’re in love with the characters like I am. It just felt a little flat, that’s all. I was really upset about The Graces, too. I was really looking forward to it and it was just well… awful.

      Like

  4. I’m glad someone else felt the same way abot Days of Blood and Starlight. Zuzana continues to be my favorite bookish bff. The third book is better! I’m so disappointed by your thoughts on the Pride and Prejudice graphic novel because I was SO excited when I saw that cover.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really excited to get to the 3rd book! But then also not because I don’t want to leave that world lol. The artwork just didn’t get to me in the the P&P graphic novel. I feel like if you love the story, though, you’d still enjoy your experience while reading it.

      Like

Leave a reply

