The Diviners by Libba Bray | Book Review

Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets The Divinersof New York City—and she is pos-i-tute-ly ecstatic. It’s 1926, and New York is filled with speakeasies, Ziegfeld girls, and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is that she has to live with her
uncle Will and his unhealthy obsession with the occult.

Evie worries he’ll discover her darkest secret: a supernatural power that has only brought her trouble so far. But when the police find a murdered girl branded with a cryptic symbol and Will is called to the scene, Evie realizes her gift could help catch a serial killer.

As Evie jumps headlong into a dance with a murderer, other stories unfold in the city that never sleeps. A young man named Memphis is caught between two worlds. A chorus girl named Theta is running from her past. A student named Jericho hides a shocking secret. And unknown to all, something dark and evil has awakened.


This. book. is. the. shit. Why in the hell did it take me over 2 years to pick this up?!

So going in, I was intimidated by two things: 1) it’s size and 2) it’s supposed to be super scary. I can’t watch scary movies without having nightmares, so what in my right mind thought that I could read this without having nightmares, too? Good grief. I just like to torture myself, that’s all it is.

What I loved about this book is how it flowed so nicely. Everything fit so perfectly together. Not once while reading did I think that there were certain scenes that could have been left out. She specifically had every scene, every line of dialogue, there for a reason. Though it was a bigger cast of characters than normal, and multiple POVs, you never got lost. You would always know who you were reading from just by the character’s voice. One of things that made me fall in love with this novel were how diverse and different the characters were. Of course, they had similarities, but there were so many unique personalities. Everyone had a different story to tale. I was invested in everyone’s lives. I quickly grew attached to them, especially Theta and Memphis.

The paranormal aspect of is was insanely creepy. It gave me a Charles Manson feel to it. You could tell that Bray out so much research into different religions and cults. It kind of felt like a twist on The Da Vinci Code. While I didn’t have nightmares, per say, I definitely was scared to be alone after I finished reading it. I even made my husband stay in the bathroom while I took a shower, cause I was afraid some Psycho shit was about to go down. I’m pathetic, I know. Moving on.

The author made you feel like you were a part of the story, that you were there in 1920’s New York with these characters, experiencing the craziness with them. It made me fall in love with this time period and I would really love to read more from it. It wasn’t all just partying and dancing, like how it’s shown lately. There were still nasty things like discrimination, guys who made girls feel inferior, etc. Bray made sure to include all of these characteristics to prove that just because it’s made out to be one of the happiest and free time periods in the country, it wasn’t all sunshine and rainbows, and there were issues that were going on that are STILL unfortunately going on today, almost 100 years later.

This was my first novel by Bray and it absolutely will not be my last. I highly recommend everyone to pick this up. You will not be disappointed.


The Diviners by Libba Bray (The Diviners #1)

Published: September 18, 2012

Source: Purchased hardcopy myself

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Pages: 578

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Historical Fiction

Add to Goodreads

Purchase The Diviners here:

Amazon | The Book Depository | Barnes and Noble | Books-a-Million

8 thoughts on “The Diviners by Libba Bray | Book Review

  1. I could not agree more with everything you said in your review of The Diviners. This book made me fall in love with the ’20s too! You’re right, it did get Manson-esque creepy. I think the thing that blows me away the most about Bray’s writing is how she fits all the pieces of these giant books together. I also like that she portrays diverse characters. Both of those things are also in ample supply in book #2, Lair of Dreams.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was not expecting anything cult related in this and I LOVED it. I didn’t know I was so interested in stories that involved that until now. I agree about how she fit everything together. The way she does it is so nonchalant, too. She’d drop a twist in the middle of a sentence and you’ll have to back track and be like wait WHAT?! I can’t wait to read Lair of Dreams.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I wish I could, but I zone out too much when trying to listen to audio books. I need to train myself to pay attention! lol

      Like

  2. It’s funny you mention the size cause that’s the exact reason I’ve been holding onto this book for so long. I saw the page count and was like ugh not in the mood. But the concept and the 1920s is right up my alley. I’m glad you liked it. I’m trying so hard to knock off all these books I bought from my Kindle and I keep buying new ones. 😂 I’m such a mess.

    Like

Leave a reply

