5 Things They Hyped About You | Hype or Like Friday

hype or like friday

Hype or Like Friday is a new meme started by myself, Larkin & Jill. Make sure to follow our Good Reads group so you can keep up to date with the weekly topics & book of the month.

Thank you Jill for keeping this meme alive!! I’m a pretty shitty co-creator.


 

RULES:

  • Answer the weekly discussion topic.
  • Discuss your chosen hyped book of the week.
  • Optional: Talk about your progress on the BOTM.

 

This week’s topic:

5 Things They Hyped About You aka 5 books that you thought were extremely over-hyped.

  • The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
  • Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
  • Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

 

I recently read The Wrath & the Dawn (review here) and I didn’t hate it. I can definitely see why people do enjoy it, but something fell flat for me. Same with To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. I can totally see why people love it. I just recently finished another Jenny Han book, and I’m beginning to think that it’s the writing that I’m not agreeing with. I feel like I would have enjoyed it a lot more if I read it say.. 10 years ago or so.

I hated Passenger. Here’s my review so you can see how I really feel. Obsidian annoyed me to no end. It reminded me of Twilight but instead of vampires, you deal with aliens. I literally had to force myself to finish this book.

Now Ugly Love is weird for me. I stayed up until 4am reading this because I couldn’t put it down. That’s just how Colleen Hoover books are for me — they’re addicting…even if they’re terrible. This one pissed me off because the characters were just dumb as hell. It sends so many bad messages to women and it makes men look like complete assholes. I just had so many issues with this.


My hyped book for this week is Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, which I am actually starting today. I’ve heard so many mixed things about this one. I’m extremely curious to see how I end up liking it.

I haven’t started The Song of Achilles yet, but will hopefully pick it up soon. I’m very interested to see what I think about this. I don’t think I’ve really read anything set during this time period, besides The Odyssey, which I had to read in high school and didn’t understand a single thing. This should be fun!

What hyped book are you reading this weekend?

 

6 thoughts on “5 Things They Hyped About You | Hype or Like Friday

    1. Oh man, that’s one of my favorite books. I really do hope you end up enjoying it! It’s small but it packs a huge punch.

      Like

  1. No problem, girl! I couldn’t let our group die out. 🙂 I posted my Top 5 a few minutes ago. I couldn’t get into Passenger at all. I made it 1%. How sad? I agree with you on Ugly Love. It annoyed the hell out of me, but I kept reading until I was finished. I read it within a few hours on my couch. I just had to know what happened to Miles. But the whole stupid girl waits around for guy for sex was so unappealing to me. Like she couldn’t do better? It wasn’t exactly empowering for women, but I did like the ending. The part in the plane. That was cute. I think it’s one of my lowest rated books on Goodreads.

    Like

    1. Yeah, Ugly Love was a 2 star read for me. It would’ve been 1 star if I didn’t grow slightly attached to Miles. His story really gripped me in. But Tate pissed me the complete fuck off. I honestly think after reading that and hating it and not liking Never, Never, I’m probably going to take a break from Colleen Hoover. I tried Confess a few months ago and only 20 pages in, I was already ready to throw the book.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think I marked it 3 stars, which is really low for me. I liked Miles and his backstory, but Tate was such a moron I couldn’t stand her. I hated Never Never. I’m about to write a rant for that book. That ending was such shit. I think CoHo is starting to lose some of her allure. And that Wattpad book she released for free was ridiculous. I made it one page before I said no way. Confess I read the whole thing but it was weird. At the time, I thought the confessions were interesting, but I wasn’t so sure how I felt about it after. It was a weird story.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, I’m just not digging her anymore. Maybe it’s because I’m starting to navigate towards fantasy more now? I’m not sure.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

