Unnatural Deeds by Cyn Balong |ARC Review

A copy of this book was sent to me for free by NetGalley in return of my honest opinion.

Unnatural DeedsSecrets. Obsession. Murder. Victoria is about to discover just how dangerous it can be to lose yourself.

Victoria Zell doesn’t fit in, but she’s okay with that. All she needs is the company of her equally oddball boyfriend, Andrew. She doesn’t care what anyone else thinks…until magnetic, charming, mysterious Z comes into her life, and she starts lying to everyone she knows in an effort to unravel his secrets.

And then something terrible happens. Someone is dead and it’s time for Victoria to come clean. Interspersed with news clippings and police interviews, Victoria tells her story to Andrew, revealing her dark, horrible secrets…secrets that have finally come back to haunt her.


According to Good Reads, I seem to be black sheep when it comes to this book.

This novel was a short and quick read, but I  didn’t really get anything out of it. I felt like there was no character development, that they were unlikeable. I understand that in mystery/thriller-type books, you’re not supposed to like some of the characters. That’s all fine and dandy, but I don’t think a couple of them were meant to fall into the category. The character of Z really irked me. I just don’t understand him or his role in anything. Maybe I’m getting too old for the “secretive hot guy” trope or something… I’m not sure. But man, did he make me angry.

This was supposed to have me on pins and needles throughout the book and I was just straight up bored throughout the whole thing. The only thing that really saved this from getting a 1 star from me was the ending. I had multiple theories going through my head about how it was going to end, and I didn’t get anywhere close to what really happened.

I understand the concept and where the author was trying to go with this. I don’t feel like it was a terrible book — it just wasn’t exactly for me.

2 stars. 


Unnatural Deeds by Cyn Balong

Release Date: November 1, 2016

Source: e-ARC provided by NetGalley

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Pages: 288 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller

Add to Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Unnatural Deeds by Cyn Balong |ARC Review

Leave a reply

