Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige | Book Review

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.dorothy-must-die

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.

I’ve been trained to fight.

And I have a mission.


I’ll be honest, I didn’t have very high expectations going into this. I knew it was going to be dark. I knew it was going to be twisted. I knew it was going to be completely different from the Oz that I love and know.

These people are psychotic.

I love the world-building in this story. I could picture everything Paige was describing to her audience.  This is a huge accomplishment for me because most of the time when I’m reading a fantasy or a setting unfamiliar to me, it’s difficult for me to imagine the setting the author is trying to describe. She was so descriptive and informative to all of the surroundings. It felt like I was there with Amy every step of the way. It was extremely fast-paced and I was constantly left wanting more when I had to put the book down.

The characters were very well-developed. Each character played an important part in the story and they all had their own voice. The villains were phenomenal. They each had their own personality, but together were complete evil. Dorothy, though not as creepy as the others, was a straight up bitch…and I loved it. Though Dorothy, Scarecrow, Tinman and Lion are obviously our main villains, I think most people leave out another villain in this story: Amy’s mom. She has no trouble up and leaving her kid to fend for herself, she doesn’t take care of her or pay attention to her. Just because she isn’t physically trying to harm Amy, she is still doing so much damage to her mentally. I’m really looking forward to how their relationship plays out in the next novel.

 I felt like our main character, Amy, was relatable in a way. She confused and scared to begin with but grew and became headstrong and determined towards the finale of the story. She develops a small crush on a boy she meets and is constantly debating with herself whether she likes him, he likes her, he hates her, etc, etc. I’ve noticed a lot of reviewers saying they didn’t enjoy the “insta-love” and felt it was unnecessary. I agree it felt out of place, but we also have to understand the age of our main character and her situation. She’s a teenager, never had a boyfriend, never been kissed, has been neglected and felt unloved for most of her teenage life. I know when I was Amy’s age and when I would think a guy was cute, I would automatically have butterflies in my stomach if he smiled at me, regardless if I knew him or his name. I think Paige was just channeling a typical teenager and you have to admit that is how typical teenagers act. (Note: I’m saying typical/averagenot all.)

Though I really enjoyed the story, I ended the novel with so many questions that were left unanswered. I’m definitely going to pick up the rest of the series in the near future as well as other works Paige publishes. I really love her descriptive writing. I’m very happy that I finally picked up this creepy, fantastical re-telling of The Wizard of Oz. 

4 stars


Have you read this book or finished this series? Let me know what you think of it! Weird fact: I was picturing Jessica Rabbit as Dorothy for most of this book. Strange, yeah? It’s all the talk about her boobs hanging out! haha


Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige (Dorothy Must Die #1)

Published: April 1, 2014

Source: hard copy purchased myself

Pages: 452

Publisher: HarperCollins

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling

Add to Goodreads

Purchase Dorothy Must Die:

Amazon | The Book Depository | Books-A-Million | Barnes and Noble

6 thoughts on “Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige | Book Review

Leave a reply

