Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon | Book Review

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, everything-everythinghave not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.


I ate this book up. I’m not sure how I can describe how great this book was for me. I was planning on reading/finishing it in November, but randomly decided to give it a shot. I definitely wasn’t expecting on reading it in a day. It was that good.

Maddy was an amazing main character. I love her positive outlook on life, despite her illness and the fact that she’s never been outside of her house. She’s so smart and witty. One of my favorite things that she does is every time she gets a new book, she writes a list of rewards if found. My favorite: Snorkel with me (Madeline) off Molokini to spot the Hawaiian state fish — the humuhumunukunukuapuaa.

I enjoyed her relationship with all of the characters. Olly is the cutest and smartest love interest I’ve seen in a while. I like that he wasn’t just a cute boy-toy figure in the book, but was given a very important story to tell. It was something I could relate to at some points and it helped Olly become an even more relatable character for me. He cared for Maddy and her well-being so much. You could say there was insta-love, but given their age and Maddy’s circumstance, I really believe that they were really in love with each other…or at least what they thought was love. So for me, their romance didn’t bother me. I really enjoyed it and at times wish I had an Olly. 😉

Though I am clearly a huge fan of Olly, my favorite character relationship was Maddy and Carla, her nurse. Carla seemed more of a mother figure to Maddy to me than Maddy’s own mother. She understands that Maddy is an eighteen-year old girl who wants to do things that other people her age are doing. Some of my favorite parts of the novel were their scenes together. She was such a wonderful contribution to the novel.

The only issue that I have with this book is the last third of it felt extremely rushed. I wouldn’t have mind having the book be 5o or so pages longer so the finale could develop and play out more. Though I figured out the ending half way through reading, I still would have liked to see more.

With that said, I still very much enjoyed it. Yoon’s writing is so beautiful and intoxicating. She knows how to suck you into a story and never want to leave. I can’t wait to get my hands on her next novel.

4.5 stars


Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Published: September 1, 2015

Source: e-copy purchased by me

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Pages: 310 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Add it to Goodreads

Where to buy Everything, Everything

Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble

10 thoughts on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon | Book Review

  1. I agreed with pretty much everything in this review! I loved Carla’s relationship with Maddy as well as Olly but it would have been awesome if the end was a bit longer. Part of me is hoping for a sequel to see Maddy and Olly in the real world! I’m so excited for the next book though!

    Like

  2. I haven’t read this book yet, but I need to get around to it since it’s being made into a movie! It sounds really good and reminds me of the good old days when all I ever read was Lurlene McDaniels books about kids with illnesses. Great review! I definitely need to pick this one up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

