This Is My Genre, Tell Me Yours | Book Tag

The Rules:

  • Credit badass Drew @The Tattooed Book Geek as the creator of the tag, either use the created tag name graphic or create your own and link back to his blog.
  • Answer the questions.
  • Tag as many people as you want.

I was tagged by Anne @ Inked Brownies! If you love fantasy reads and yummy recipes, you should definitely give her blog a good run-through and follow! Her tag has some really great recommendations, also.


What’s your favorite genre?

Although I have been dabbling into fantasy more than normal, I’d have to say my heart and soul is still with contemporary.

Who’s your favorite author from that genre?

Oh goodness…I’m going to change this to author(s). Recently, Nicola Yoon has definitely become a top author in the contemporary world for me. I will always have a spot in my heart for Sarah Dessen and Sophie Kinsella. Morgan Matson is a must-read if you love or want to try out YA contemporary.

What is it about the genre that keeps pulling you back?

I think what constantly pulls me back to contemporary is the fact that I can relate to it so much more than I can with a fantastical creature or a character that is stuck in a post-apocalyptic setting. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson, for example, is a contemporary that I can relate to the most out of all of the ones I’ve read, since I’ve also been in the position of having to watch my sick father slowly die. It’s devastating to read, but it also weirdly comforts me, because it helps me cope with my loss.

Second Chance Summer

What’s the book that started your love for your favorite genre?

Oh goodness. I can’t think of a specific book, so I’m going to cheat and go with an author. I remember while I was high school, I would read any book by Sarah Dessen that I could get my hands on. Every book she writes have such important subjects that were a lot heavier than the books that I read when I was younger. She really helped me grow and mature as a young woman by writing about subjects I was too scared to talk to my parents or other adults about.

If you had to recommend at least one book from your favorite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start reading that genre, what book would you choose and why?

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz. I talk about this book so much on my blog, but I will continue talking about it and recommending it until every person I’ve ever had a conversation with has read this book. This book is so important for so many different reasons. It has such a great family dynamic and beautiful relationships. Saenz lets you know that it is okay to be yourself, even if others try to knock you down. You get right back up and you fight. You are important. Your race, gender, sexuality, religion, etc. doesn’t matter because you are a person and you deserve all of the greatness in this world.

d809a-aristotle2band2bdante2bdiscover2bthe2bsecrets2bof2bthe2buniverse

This book made me cry tears of happiness and sadness.  I laughed. I was scared. I had butterflies in my stomach. This book will give you all of the emotions. Everyone needs to read this masterpiece. It will change your life.

Why do you read?

I read because it relaxes me. A book was always my security blanket growing up. I never went anywhere with out at least 2. I love being able to get lost in different worlds and discover different creatures, kingdoms and characters. Reading also has taught me so much about life and about myself in general. I would straight up be completely lost if I didn’t have books. I don’t know what I would do if I didn’t have different universes to escape to when real life gets rough.


I tag:

You definitely don’t have to do this tag if you don’t want to!  And of course, if you want to do this tag and weren’t tagged, please do it anyway!! Leave the link to your post in the comments so I’m able to give it a read. 🙂


I really loved doing this tag! Thanks so much to Anne for tagging me and to Drew for creating it! I like being able to discuss with ya’ll why I love to read and why it is so important to me. I especially love giving recommendations and be able to talk about my favorite books over and over! That ain’t the last you’ll be seeing of Ari & Dante. 😉

35 thoughts on “This Is My Genre, Tell Me Yours | Book Tag

  1. I knew you’d say contemporary. That’s so your go to genre. You actually got me reading some. I bought Since You’ve Been Gone about two months ago. I remember you saying you loved it. I hope I do. 🙂 Aristotle and Dante was one of the books that started hype or like and I still haven’t read it. 🙈 Or ADSOM. That was Larkin’s book that kicked it off, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol you know me so well!! SYBG is a lot of fun, but my favorite Matson is still Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour. Please please get to Ari & Dante! I actually started ADSOM last night! So far, so good.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely have been dabbling more into fantasy lately but I just can’t help myself when it comes to a contemporary. They’re my weakness lol. So glad you love Ari & Dante!! It’s so powerful. Absolutely! Can’t wait to read your post!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m more of a fantasy reader now but contemporaries were definitely what started my love of reading. I used to search the libraries at school for them. Especially Sarah Dessen’s books! She was (and still is) one of my favorites. Are you excited for her new book!? I can’t wait! Also, Ari & Dante is incredible. I adore that book. I heard the author is working on a sequel so that’s exciting. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am always excited for new Sarah Dessen! I’ll admit I haven’t read her latest two, but I am definitely planning on picking them up soon! And I heard! I am so happy, you don’t even know!! Can’t wait to be back with my favorite boys.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for the awesome shout-out! :3

    I’m so sorry to hear about your father. Mine is battling stage IV bowel cancer at the moment, and I’m not ready to read any books like Second Chance summer yet :(.

    Aristotle and Dante seems like the perfect book to read now with all the nasty stuff going on over there. But I bet you’d say it’s always the perfect moment to read it eh? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry to hear about your Dad! :/ It sucks. And yes..it IS always the perfect moment to read it, but especially now with all of the hate in the world. It brings so much happiness.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Cool tag! Also, I’m sorry to hear about your father, that must’ve been hard. I don’t read much contemporary but Ari and Dante is a must for anybody willing to dive into the world of contemporary literature.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

