Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova | Book Review

Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.labyrinth-lost

I fall to my knees. Shattered glass, melted candles and the outline of scorched feathers are all that surround me. Every single person who was in my house – my entire family — is gone.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange markings on his skin.

The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…


“But we aren’t like normal families. Our monsters are real. Sometimes we are the monsters.”

I started off this book very skeptical. I didn’t hear much about it and I was really going into it blind. While I did enjoy it in the end, I did have a few problems with the novel while reading. I started off reading the book with high hopes and as I continued, it slowly started to go downhill for me.

Let me start off by saying it is a very interesting story. I loved the culture brought into the book and the creativity within the land of Los Lagos. However, I felt like most of the story was a bit flat. There wasn’t as much world building into Los Lagos as I would have liked. Like I said, I did enjoy the creativity behind it but I felt like there was so much more of the world that the author could have given us.

Same goes for the characters. While I did get to know a little bit about our protagonists, I didn’t get to know enough to be able to connect with them. They were just kind of there in this massive, strange world and I didn’t really know what was going on. I honestly wanted more of Alex’s family than I did of her and Nova, her traveling companion. I was a bit disappointed when her family vanished because I wanted more of them. I forgot that was happening, honestly, so it really made me upset when it happened. Alex wasn’t anything special.

As for the villain…there wasn’t much of one. Again, the character lacked development. She was in no way scary or intimidating. I actually laughed at some of the scenes she was in, just because it was plain awful. The author tried to give us a bit of a back story on the villain, but I honestly couldn’t even tell you what it was because I was already bored with her. Then there was some “twist” and a new sort of “villain” was revealed and there was absolutely no rhyme or reason for it. I would have enjoyed the story more if the villain was completely erased from it. 

If you don’t like love triangles, then I would stay away from this one. However, it’s different from your typical YA triangle. Alex is torn between a male and female love interest. I appreciate the fact that the author included a bisexual main character, but her relationship between the female character was so under-developed and rushed. I felt like it was added in there just to add more diversity to the novel. I really wanted more from it, because I felt like that is one part of the novel I could have really enjoyed.

While I do think the writing style is nice, it’s hard to thoroughly enjoy a story when you have no connections with anything at all. I love that it had diverse qualities to it, but the story as a whole was completely flat for me. I’m still undecided on whether or not I want to continue on with this series. 

2.5 stars


Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova (Brooklyn Brujas #1)

Published: September 6, 2016

Source: e-copy purchased myself

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Pages: 336

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal, LGBT

Add it to Goodreads

Where to buy Labyrinth Lost:

Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova | Book Review

  1. Sorry this one was disappointing for you, Brit! I totally agree on EVERYTHING you said about the characters and relationships. I really enjoyed the world, magic and culture though which is the main reason I rated it highly. The next book focuses on one of Alex’ sisters (I can’t remember which one right now!) so maybe that’ll be better for you?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would have rated it a lot higher if I felt like the entire book was a bit more developed. I had no idea that the next one will be following one of her sisters!! I’ll have to look into it, then. They were my favorite part of the whole book.

      Like

  2. I’m sorry you did not enjoy the book so much! I just read a great review on Beth’s blog, it’s always good to have very different opinions, it means that no matter if I like it or not, I won’t be alone, hahahah!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Everyone has been raving about this book lately so I’m super glad to see a different opinion of it! I haven’t decided if I want to read it or not because it has been so hyped up. It’s on my TBR shelf on Goodreads but I might take it off as I’m not really interested in it, and I don’t really know why haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sorry you didn’t like this one! I can see where you’re coming from though because while I liked this book I thought more than a few parts were flat and underdeveloped. The characters being my main problem as well! Great review! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It seems like a lot of people I’ve spoken to agrees about the lack of development in the characters. I’m glad you were able to enjoy the book! Thanks for commenting. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

