Pleasant Surprises of 2016 | Hype or Like Friday

hype or like friday

Hype or Like Friday is a new meme started by myself, Larkin & Jill. Make sure to follow our Good Reads group so you can keep up to date with the weekly topics & book of the month.


RULES:

  • Answer the weekly discussion topic.
  • Discuss your chosen hyped book of the week.
  • Optional: Talk about your progress on the BOTM.

December’s BOTM: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

A Thousand Pieces of You

This week’s topic: books that were a pleasant surprise 2016.

 

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige (4 stars)Β dorothy-must-die

I was really skeptical about this one because I saw a bunch of mixed reviews. But I found it at the thrift store and decided to give it a go. My husband actually picked it up before I did and got around 100 pages in before saying “Dude, you need to read this right now! It’s so
cool!” So if my hubby approves, it must have been decent lol. I thoroughly enjoyed this. Definitely a lot more than I initially expected. If you’d like, my review for this book can be found here.

 

 

Darkest Part of the ForestThe Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black (4 stars)

I’ve never had much luck with stories about fae. Mention wings and you lost me. The cover of this one sold me and I bought it without even thinking about it, to be honest. It was like pretty cover, Amazon one-click…now I own it. But it was surprisingly good! I think the writing was what hooked me the most into the story. Black has such a majestic way of describing her world. It was really beautiful.

 

 

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas (4 stars)Β Crown of Midnight

While I may not be as a big of Throne of Glass trash as my bestie Larkin is (she’s so full of
trash it’s ridiculous) I really ended up liking Crown of Midnight. It didn’t hit me on how much I enjoyed it until about 60% in when shit went down, balls to the wall. I gave an extra star for Chaol since he’s my book husband. Don’t judge me.

 

 

 


 

Those were just a few of the pleasant surprise I’ve happened to come across in 2016. Let me know if you have read any of these 3 books and what you thought! If you made a Hype or Like Friday post, pretty please link me in the comments so I’m able to check it out!

9 thoughts on “Pleasant Surprises of 2016 | Hype or Like Friday

  1. LOL at Larkin being TOG trash. She’s already planning her wedding to Chaol. Larkin Westfall doesn’t sound too shabby. πŸ˜‚ I also liked The Darkest Part of the Forest. I was surprised since I originally marked it as DNF and went back to it and loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

