November Wrap-Up | 2016

I failed. I’m a failure. My goal was to read 10 books in November, but I only completed four. I started God knows how many. I was picking up so many books this past month that I really didn’t enjoy and it was burning me out. I’m happy that I’ve already met my reading goal for this year, so I’m not too worried about how many more books I need to read to hit that. I just want to get some of these damn books off of my TBR! I counted and I have over 200 currently owned books, both physical & e-book, that I haven’t read. It will take me at least 2 years to get through these ever-growing pile. I’m not stressed or anything….

help

One of my goals for December is to read a bunch of the books that I have already started, but never completed. I’ve already knocked out one, so that’s something! Let’s hope I can knock out 20 more bahaha.


First book I “read” in November was Falling Kingdoms by falling-kingdomsMorgan Rhodes. I DNF’d it around 50% the way into it. I couldn’t stand any of the characters. I’m not the type of reader that can get by with only a plot-based book. I have to be able to connect, or at least somewhat enjoy, the characters I’m reading about. You would think with a cast of around 6 people, I’d be able to have at least one person that I liked. Nope. Hated them all. I felt like I was reading a fantasy version of Gossip Girl…but Gossip Girl was better. I’ve been told by a ton of people to continue on with the series and that it gets better, so I will. Just for ya’ll.

labyrinth-lost

While Labyrinth Lost was a very creative read, I didn’t enjoy it near as much as I would have hoped. To prevent repetition, here’s a full review of it if ya’ll would like to
check it out. I’ve heard the sequel will be following one of Alex’s sisters, both of whom I really enjoyed, so I’ll definitely be looking forward to that. How gorgeous is that cover, though? 3 stars. 

splintered

Splintered by A.G. Howard was yet another book that I didn’t very much enjoy. I really,
really hated the characters in this one. They were annoying and irritating. And what the hell was up with Jeb?! He was so manipulative and over-bearing on Alyssa. It was, in my opinion, an unhealthy relationship. The world was very imaginative and I enjoyed reading a different take on Wonderland, but I had so many issues with this one. The main one being Jeb. He is #2 on the list of Characters I Fucking Hate.  2 stars.

309b1-wolf2bby2bwolf

Finally, a book I did enjoy. Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin was a very interesting journey. Don’t judge me when I say that I was expecting her to turn into a werewolf before I started reading it. DON’T JUDGE ME. While I didn’t connect with any of the characters, the world-building and writing was enough to have me craving for more. I was completely taken aback from the ending! This book was a crazy adventure! I’m super excited to read Blood for Blood next year. 3.75 stars.

grave-mercy

I. loved. this. book. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers was exactly th
e way I needed to end this reading month. Nun assassins?! Come on! That’s fucking awesome. Ismae was such a strong character and I was immensely drawn to her. I also have a major book crush on Duval. If you’re on the market for a different take on historical fiction, definitely check out this series.


So there we go. My pitiful November wrap-up. I’m really hoping that I read a ton of enjoyable books in December. Have you read any of these novels? Let me know your thoughts on them. I would love to discuss them with you!

26 thoughts on “November Wrap-Up | 2016

  1. November seems to have been a good month for reading slumps! I had a hard time reading much of anything myself, as did a few of my other friends. What happened to November? Who hurt it so much it had to take away our awesome reading skills?? WHO KNOWS!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry to hear your November wasn’t a great reading month for you! I know that Falling Kingdoms was difficult for me too, mostly because there were just SO MANY POVs.
    And I WAS THE SAME WITH WOLF BY WOLF!! The worldbuilding, the whole concept of it all was what really drew me in!
    Plus, PREACH with Grave Mercy! That book was just so many levels of awesome 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Multiple POVs don’t bother me much. It’s when I don’t like ALL of the characters is where my problems start lol. GM was so awesome!!! Nun assassins — come on now!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Seems to be a trend that no one barely read in November! I’m terrified of my TBR lol But I’m hoping I can work through some books and if I don’t like them, stop and donate. I don’t hesitate before DNF’ing! haha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just put around 15 books into a donate pile! I read the first chapter and decided I wasn’t all that interested anymore lol

        Like

  3. Hey, four books isn’t pitiful at all! You’re not a failure, don’t worry.

    Sorry to see you didn’t love all the books, though. Hopefully December will treat you better.

    I’d taken Falling Kingdoms off my TBR ages ago due to strongly negative reviews, but tons of people have recently been praising the series, so I hesitantly put it back on my list. I’m now reconsidering that decision; the book sounds awful. Maybe I’ll wait until you’ve read further into the series, to see if you become a convert. =D

    Honestly, I STILL expect Wolf by Wolf to be about werewolves. Every time I see someone mention it’s not, I do a double-take. *Dies.*

    Looking forward to hearing what you have to say about December’s books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol about Wolf by Wolf. I wonder if she’ll just throw it in there in the 2nd book! HA! I heard a lot of people say they didn’t like the first book in FK, but really enjoyed the series as it continued. I’m seeing a trend lately with YA series where the first book sucks bad, but the rest of the series is amazing.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you enjoy Wolf by Wolf! It was definitely a book I didn’t want to put down. I’ve heard alot of people who love the Falling Kingdoms series didn’t like the first book, so I’m going try and give it a second chance next year. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

