Top Over-Hyped Books of 2016 | Hype or Like Friday

hype or like friday

Hype or Like Friday is a new meme started by myself, Larkin & Jill. Make sure to follow our Good Reads group so you can keep up to date with the weekly topics & book of the month.


RULES:

  • Answer the weekly discussion topic.
  • Discuss your chosen hyped book of the week.
  • Optional: Talk about your progress on the BOTM.

December’s BOTM: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

A Thousand Pieces of You

This week’s topic: top over-hyped books of 2016.


Oh, do I have some over-hyped books. I think it’s hilarious that almost every book we have read for our BOTM this year we either didn’t like or, in Jill’s case, didn’t finish. For some reason, I tend to not agree with the hype on majority of the popular books. I went with the first book in a series so I wouldn’t go all over the place.

Passenger

One of my biggest disappointments of the year was Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. The cover is beautiful and the synopsis really struck me. The book, however, was a complete snooze fest. I didn’t get along with Etta. The plot took forever to get started and then when it did, it all happened at once. I did not have fun with this. Review here.

falling-kingdoms

I ended up DNF’ing Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes because I literally COULD NOT with this anymore. It was terrible.  The more I talk about it the angrier I get. UGHHH. I don’t get it!! Please explain to me why it’s so hyped up.

to-all-the-boys-ive-loved-before

I’m not sure if I should include this one because I do understand why this book is hyped up, but I still didn’t enjoy it all that much. While I loved the family dynamics, I didn’t get along with most of the characters.

splintered

Jeb is the worst. That is all.


I was going to list all of the books I didn’t quite enjoy, but decided 4 would be a good place to stop.

Do you agree or disagree with any on my list? Let me know if I should attempt to continue with any of these series or not! Be sure to leave me a link to your Hype or Like Friday posts!

19 thoughts on “Top Over-Hyped Books of 2016 | Hype or Like Friday

  1. I thought “All the Ugly and Wonderful Things” by Bryn Greenwood was overhyped. I didn’t fully expect it to be a sappy romance about a tattooed biker and the underage daughter of a drug dealer. The writing was OK, but I just could not get past feeling totally creeped out by the main premise.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is on my to-read list! I am fully expecting to be creeped out and I’m not sure if that will affect the way I enjoy the book. Good to know there is at least someone out there who didn’t enjoy it, though! I start getting skeptical if EVERYONE is raving.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I bought Passenger a few weeks after it was released because everyone raving about it made me want to read it (I’m so weak when it comes to hype) but I still haven’t read it because I’ve since seen a lot of people saying that the book wasn’t that great and that it’s waaaay overhyped. I’ll read it eventually, but probably not any time soon. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I highly recommend you to stay away from Passenger lol. I do need to get to the Darkest Minds, though! I’m hoping Passenger was just a fluke.

      Like

      1. Hahahaha. That just makes me want to read it more 😂😂 I know Jill really didn’t like it either. I’m so curious. I feel like they’re really different books. TDM series does have a bit of a slow pace but I feel like it suits the series and flows really well. Hope you have better luck!!

        Like

Leave a reply

