The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black | Book Review

book-review

the-coldest-girl-in-coldtown

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.

 

 

arrow

I’m not a fan of vampires. Every book that I’ve attempted to read that included them (yes, including Twilight) I never finished. I’m not sure what it is about them but I would rather read books about magic over books of “people” biting and sucking other people for their blood.

After reading and loving Holly Black’s The Darkest Part of the Forest, I wanted to read more from the author which is why I picked up The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. I haven’t heard much about it, but it seemed interesting and thought that maybe this would be a vampire book that I could get into. Spoiler alert: I finished it.

This novel centers around a trio: Tana, Aiden and Gavriel. They all are wound up at the same party where tragedy strikes. Together, they journey to get to the closest Coldtown, which are towns that are walled in to keep vampires in and nobody gets out.

While I did enjoy the story, I didn’t love it. The pacing was very slow in the beginning and then by the end, everything was happening so fast that it felt extremely rushed. It didn’t end on a cliffhanger, which I was thankful for considering it is a stand alone novel, but it still left me wanting more. The transformation from human to vampire was also a little confusing. In this universe, once you’re bitten, you’re not immediately turned into a vampire like other novels and movies portray. I liked her creativity with the genre and I think that is what kept me interested in the story.

I didn’t connect with the characters immensely, but I do appreciate their development. Gavriel probably is my favorite just because he knows he’s a bad guy and doesn’t try to change that or lie about it.

If you love novels about vampires and like fluent and beautiful writing, I’d definitely recommend The Coldest Girl in Coldtown to you. I’m happy I finally decided to pick it up.

3 stars

arrow

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

Published September 3rd 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Pages: 419

Source: hardcopy bought myself

Genre: young adult, paranormal, urban fantasy

arrow

purchase1

amazonbnbook-depo

8 thoughts on “The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black | Book Review

  1. Great review! I bought this book after reading The Darkest Part of the Forest because I LOVED that book. But I haven’t gotten around to reading this one yet. I don’t see many reviews on this one, so I appreciate hearing your opinion on it. I’m not a huge fan of vampire books but I still wanna give this one a try.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did the same exact thing haha. Give it a shot though! You could probably knock this book out in 4 hours or so if you wanted to get it out of the way. Thanks for commenting! Hopefully you enjoy it once you get around to it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I read this book, and I agree with your rating (Gavriel was my favorite too haha). I enjoy fantasy, so I decided to pick it up, plus it’s by Holly Black! Have you read the Mortal Instruments yet? I guess it could be considered vampire book although its not focused on them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol I’m glad you agree!! And I’ve picked up the first book and tried to read it about 3 times, but never could get into it. I just don’t think it’s for me. I do have Clockwork Prince on my e-reader though and I think I’m going to try to give that one a fair shot soon. Have you read that trilogy?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

