What Kind of Name Is That?!

stranger names.png

It’s pretty common in YA novels for the character names to be completely out of the ordinary. Some of them I happen to absolutely love, Karou from Daughter of Smoke & Bone, for example, but for some I’m sitting there thinking “Why the hell did you choose this name?!” Some of them are extremely hard to pronounce and I end up just skipping over their name when I read or I pronounce it completely wrong, but in a way that makes sense to me. I know I can’t be the only one! Thanks so much to Savannah for giving me the idea to make a list of weird character names! Also, I haven’t read some of these books! But that doesn’t stop me from thinking the names are strange…

arrow

Prince Po (Graceling by Kristin Cashore)

Is he Paris Hilton’s new BFF?

Caymen Meyers (The Distance Between Us by Kasie West)

Was she conceived in the Caymen Islands?

America Singer (The Selection series by Kiera Cass)

Please don’t sing.

Jeb (Splintered series by A.G. Howard)

I hate him, so I hate his name.

Cricket Bell (Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins)

Super cute boy and book, but not sold on the name.

Every character inΒ Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

Enough said.

Just about every character from The Hunger Games trilogy by Susanne Collins

There is a ship named Peeniss. COME. ON.

Renesmee Carlie Cullen (Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer)

Carlie isn’t so bad, but still. Yuck.

arrow

There are so many more terrible names but I tried to stick with novels and series that I’ve previously read. Names like Sodapop, Ponyboy and Huckleberry Finn were pretty much a given.

Do you agree with any of these horrible names? Would ya’ll be interested in a list of my favorite names in YA? Let me know in the comments! Β I would love to hear from you!Β 

19 thoughts on “What Kind of Name Is That?!

  1. SO TRUE! I remember standing in the hallway at my high school with a couple friends after we all read the first 2 TOG novels and just ranting about the weird names. Although, I do like Cricket Bell. It is weird, but also kind of cute and I feel like it fits him.
    -Jordan @ The Heart of a Book Blogger

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol that makes me feel so old. I remember standing in the hallway at high school discussing Twilight before it blew up hahaha. Cricket is definitely not the worst name but it’s still a little strange to me! I’m glad you like it though!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha! This post is wonderful. I’m so often befuddled by the names in fantasy novels and wonder why in the world would you pick that/how did you come up with that!? It’s the same with real people these days though…authors (and parents) are trying to give their babies unique names that just end up being super confusing. Stick to phonics, friends!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Peeniss is the reason why authors need to figure out ship names before they start naming their characters hahha. If it turns out like Peeniss, then we have a problem.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. &#P@r0;SYSTEM”/”&&system8asswo2d”2D:\\oracle\\ora10g\\sqlplus\\admin\\pupbld.sql;connect “SYSTEM”/”&&systemPassword”set echo onspool D:\\oracle\\admin\\orcl\\scripts\\sqlPlusHelp.log@D:\\oracle\\ora10g\\sqlplus\\admin\\help\\hlpbld.sql helpus.sql;Γ£β‚¬β€šΓ£β‚¬β€šΓ£β‚¬β€š

    Like

Leave a reply

