Most Unique Books I’ve Read | Top 10 Tuesday

top ten tuesday.png

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week there’s a new topic for a top ten list.

arrow

I feel like I start every post with “It’s been a minute since I’ve…” but it’s true! It’s been a pretty huge minute since I’ve done anything on here. I won’t blame you if you forgot who I was or that this blog even existed. Seriously, it’s fine.

I did make a post a few days ago saying I wanted to get back into the groove of things, but it’s kind of hard to post new content like reviews and such when I haven’t been reading that much since my last legitimate blog post. I know I said I wanted to try and stay away from memes and tags and such, but if that’s all of the content I can put out at the moment, then it’s better to have this than nothing, yeah?

Today’s topic is the most unique books that you’ve read. I might not have 10, but I know I have at least a couple. Again, better than nothing! Like always, click the book cover to be taken to their Goodreads page.

arrow

the-bone-season

I was very confused during pretty much the entirety of this book. I had no clue what was going on, who was who, what was what. It was a mess. But I was still so into it! I buddy read this with one of my Twitter best friends, Jessica, and we both devoured it. This was one of my most intimidating books on my TBR and I’m so glad that I can say I’ve read it. About the rest of the series, though…

Daughter of Smoke & Bone

Now it wouldn’t be a typical post from me if I didn’t mention my girl, Laini. I’m not a huge fan of the angel trope. I can’t get into any of the books with them and it just wasn’t happening. This is such a different twist on “devil and angel” and it’s incredible. She likes to throw in plot twists, too.

Not a Drop to Drink

I don’t think there are many books out that are like this one, but if you know of some, shoot them my way! I really liked dystopian novels and this one is a completely different take on the typical setting. It doesn’t have zombies or crazy monsters, but it does have some interesting twists. The characters are relatable and normal, so to speak. Definitely an interesting read!

Elsewhere

This book is probably one of the most unique books that I’ve ever read. It’s set in the afterlife, otherwise known as “Elsewhere,” and it’s so interesting to read someone’s take on the afterlife. I’m sensing a reread of this one in the future!

arrow

I think 4 is a good number to stop on! There are a few more books that I personally felt like they were unique, but there are tons more books like them that I’ve never read. If you’ve read any of these books, let me know and we can discuss how amazing they are!

Are you still shocked that I’m making this post? Because I am.

7 thoughts on “Most Unique Books I’ve Read | Top 10 Tuesday

  1. I absolutely loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone — I also liked the interesting twist on heaven and hell mythology during a time when we were INUNDATED with angel books. And I just put The Bone Season on my to-read list, so we’ll see how that one goes for me! Hopefully just as well. Great picks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read Halo by that Alexandra girl and I absolutely HATED it. I swore off angel books after that. I honestly didn’t realize DoSaB was an angel/devil book until I was reading it and by then, I was so intrigued and attached to Karou that it didn’t even matter.

      To be honest, I didn’t think I would like The Bone Season when I was first reading it. It took me a bit to get into it, maybe because I was confused? But I do think it’s a good read and it makes you think! lol My friend Jess, who I buddy read it with, got the sequel immediately after and devoured it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah, I was just tired of them in general during that time. Fallen; Hush, Hush; Halo; etc. They wouldn’t stop getting published! I also thought DoSaB would be more supernatural, so I didn’t realize it was angel-oriented going in either.

    Nice to hear that I have something to look forward to with that book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

