How I Choose My Books | Tag

tag.png

I wasn’t exactly tagged to do this, but I saw The Orangutan Library do it earlier and it looked like a lot of fun! Plus it gives me an excuse to ravage through my shelves like a mad man. Mwhaha! Hope ya’ll have fun with me and discover a new read!

arrowFind a book on your shelves or e-reader with a blue cover. What made you want to pick up this book?

The Hating Game

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne is, so far, one of my favorite reads of 2017! I’m a sucker for the hate-to-love trope and as you tell simply by the title of the novel, it is 100% just that. The characters are so lovable. Their quick wit and hostility towards each other is just hilarious. I was recommend this book by one of my best friends, Jess, who is absolutely in love with it. If you love quick and hilarious reads then I highly recommend this!

 

 

Think of a book you didn’t expect to enjoy, but did. Why did you read it in the first place?

Clockwise Clockwise by Elle Strauss was an impulse “buy” on my e-reader, light emphasis on the “buy” considering it’s free on Amazon. I’m a sucker for anything time travel and I figured it wouldn’t hurt to give this a go. I’m so happy that I enjoyed it! Though it does have over 500 reviews on Amazon, it still isn’t hyped up in the book community but it needs to be! It was such a great take on time travel, especially the time periods where Casey traveled to. It is a 6 book series (which all 6 is less $20, like wtf) and I’m definitely planning on continuing!

 

 

Stand in front of your bookshelf with your eyes closed and pick up a book at random. How did you discover this book?

Born WickedI think the first time I heard about Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood was on Kayla Rayne‘s Booktube channel. I love reading about witches and thought this trilogy was right up on my alley! So far, I’ve only read the first book but I have major plans to continue with the series!

 

 

 

 

Pick a book that someone personally recommended to you. What did you think of it?

Let’s stay on the subject of witches, yes? Larkin and many others have recommend A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness a-discovery-of-witchesto me time and time again. I’ve even gone to the point where I’ve read 2 pages from it! But I still can’t get myself to complete it. I know it’s because I’m intimidated as hell to read it. The books are massive! I know I will enjoy them. I just need to yank up the courage to actually pick them up and read!

 

 

 

Pick a book that you discovered through YouTube / book blogs. Did it live up to the hype?

 

IPassenger‘m only picking this book because I feel like I need at least one gripe in this tag. I fucking hated Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. I was so hyped about it whenever I saw all of my favorite booktubers and bloggers completely rave about it. Time travel and a POC love interest? Hell yeah, sign me up! It was a train wreck for me. There are a ton of mixed reviews out there, so don’t let my hate for it distract you from not reading a book you think you will enjoy. But holy goat, this was just not enjoyable at all. If you would like to read my review for it, I have one that you can check out here.

 

Find a book on your shelves or e-reader with a one-word title. What drew you to this book?

I recently picked this up at the thrift store and thought it looked intriguing. Venom by venomFiona Paul is set a historical romance/thriller set in Venice during the Renaissance. It’s supposed to be dark and suspenseful yet beautiful and seductive. Honestly, I’m not a huge fan of the cover but this sounds like a wonderful hidden treasure! Plus the title though!

 

 

 

 

What book did you discover through a film / TV adaptation?

The best examples that I can think of are movies that I’ve watched and loved, then found out afterwards that they were a novel but have never actually read the books. Examples:

Tuck Everlasting, The Princess Diaries, Fight Club, Babe, Blade Runner, Matilda

If I list anymore, I’m afraid I may die of embarrassment! Though I really would love to read a few of these one day, I don’t exactly see it happening in the near future.

arrow

And that’s all, folks! I’m not going to tag anybody since I have absolutely no idea who has or hasn’t done this tag yet. I’ve been gone from this community for far too long in order to keep up with that, unfortunately. If you’re like me and you want to do this tag, then go for it! Make sure you tag me so I can stalk your responses. 😉

7 thoughts on “How I Choose My Books | Tag

  1. Hallo, Hallo < surfing in through your lovely #bloghop s/o on Twitter! 🙂

    It's been half an age since I've had the joy of winding through the book blogosphere which is why seeing your *thread & the one started by @AvalinahsBooks was so inspiring these past few days! Speaking of 'Discovery of Witches' and Harknesses series this is one I have had on my own TBR for absolute ages and have dearly wanted to read. I'm thinking it would be keen to read this year for #HorrorOctober!! As I love the cosier side of the genre w/ heaps of thrilling suspense rolled in for good fun! Hope you get to dig inside it soon, yourself! We should let ourselves get intimated!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jorie! Thanks so much for checking out my little ole blog. I hope you’re able to get to Discovery of Witches soon! I always miss reading if I haven’t done it for a while. I’ve been told that book will help get out of reading slumps — even though the size is incredibly intimidating! I always feel accomplished after completing such a tome as that.

      Like

  2. Fun tag! I’m a sucker for the hate-to-love trope as well and THE HATING GAME has been in my TBR pile for a while now as I keep hearing great things about it. I hadn’t realized The Princess Dairies were a book series either until several years after I watched the movies, too.

    -Jordan @ The Heart of a Book Blogger

    Like

Leave a reply

