Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller | Book Review

book-review

Daughter of the Pirate King

There will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I’ve gotten what I came for.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.

arrow

YA’LL…THIS BOOK. I CAN’T.

I’ll be honest, I was not expecting to love this book as much as I did.  I had a feeling that I would like it and it would be a fun ride, but it was so much more! Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller follows Captain Alosa Kalligan who is sent out on a mission by her father to be purposely kidnapped by the pirate crew, led by the cunning and ruthless Draxen, to recover a legendary hidden map leading to a magical island full of happiness and treasure. If you are looking for a fantasy that is entertaining and action-packed — Daughter of the Pirate King is for you. Besides having an amazing main character, my favorite part of the book is the witty and sarcastically hilarious dialogue between the cast of characters, especially between Alosa and Riden, first mate and brother of Draxen. I’m a sucker for hate-to-love tropes and this one hits the nail on the head with it. The chemistry is perfect but the tension…oh my.

I’m not sure how much I can describe how ridiculously awesome Alosa as a main character is without constantly repeating BAD ASS. I want to BE her.  I love reading about feisty, in-charge women and Alosa was everything I could have asked for and more when it comes to empowering females. She is confident and smart and FIERCE. Ya’ll think Celaena is the master of assassinating? Psh, she wouldn’t stand a chance against Alosa were they to fight. DON’T @ ME. Also, the whole description of her being a female Jack Sparrow is completely false. SHE’S BETTER.

Besides the fact that I’m obviously obsessed with the characters of the novel, can we talk about the writing for a second? Levenseller is so fluid with the dialogue but also the flow of the story was just so smooth. She is so sneaky when it comes to revealing plot twists. She tells you plain as day while you’re reading but when it comes to the reveal, you act like a complete fool for not seeing it before. I don’t know about you but I personally love that about novels. I love it when the author is constantly keeping me on my toes because it always make me want to come back for more.

I could honestly keep going on and on about how in love I am with this book, but you need to find out for yourself. If it wasn’t obvious before, I HIGHLY recommend this book to anyone who loves fast-paced, quick wit, packed with feisty and cute pirates, then PICK THIS UP.

5 stars

I mean..who didn’t see that coming?

arrow

goodreads

purchase1

amazonbnbook-depo

 

12 thoughts on “Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller | Book Review

  1. Wow this sounds like a fun read! I’ve seen a few other good reviews for it as well. I love how awesome Alosa sounds and great dialogue too? Nice.

    Coming here via the Twitter blog hop. Great idea BTW! 🙂

    Like

Leave a reply

